Writing Advice

Misunderstood Words and Phrases…is it really a big deal?

The answer for me is yes – and no.

With NaNoWriMo in full swing I decided to post some helpful writing tips, grammar help, etc. The first one is a nice big graphic I found on misunderstood words and phrases. For the most part, you think you’d know all of them. I thought that. I thought that way back in 2011 when I published my first book and used the phrase “for all intensive purposes”. Yeah, that one still haunts me.

Some I personally feel don’t need to be taken too strictly. Especially, in character dialogue. Farther/Further all confuses me a little. And I KNOW I use it incorrectly in my real life conversations, so by all means, my characters, especially the young ones might not be using it properly either.

So, glance away and I hope this brings you just a bit of help. And for those participating in NaNoWriMo…good luck and good writing!!!

 

 

blog-1

Leave a Reply

